Jonathan Appoints Nuhu Ribadu To Head Petroleum Task Force

Nuhu Ribadu

ABUJA — The Federal Government, Wednesday, approved the appointment of Mallam Nuhu Ribadu, as chair of a 20-member newly established Petroleum Revenue Special Taskforce, in line with ongoing efforts to sanitise the petroleum industry.
This is the first appointment to be accepted by the former Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, boss, whose tenure at the anti-graft agency drew accolades and condemnations during the former President Olusegun Obasanjo’s regime.
Below is the press statement on the appointment:


Consistent with the policies and promises of President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan’s Administration, and underpinned by the yearnings of the people of Nigeria for transparency in the Petroleum Industry, the Honourable Minister of Petroleum Resources has set up a Petroleum Revenue Special Task Force designed to enhance probity and accountability in operations of the Petroleum Industry.

The Petroleum Revenue Special Task Force, whose membership is listed below, is charged with the following terms of reference:

Terms of Reference

1.               To work with consultants and experts to determine and verify all petroleum upstream and downstream revenues (taxes, royalties, etc.) due and payable to the Federal Government of Nigeria;

2.               To take all necessary steps to collect all debts due and owing; to obtain agreements and enforce payment terms by all oil industry operators;

3.               To design a cross debt matrix between all Agencies and Parastatals of the Federal Ministry of Petroleum Resources;

4.               To develop an automated platform to enable effective tracking, monitoring, and online validation of income and debt drivers of all Parastatals and Agencies in the Federal Ministry of Petroleum Resources;

5.               To work with world-class consultants to integrate systems and technology across the production chain to determine and monitor crude oil production and exports, ensuring at all times, the integrity of payments to the Federal Government of Nigeria; and,

6.               To submit monthly reports for ministerial review and further action.


1.   Mallam Nuhu Ribadu                 –       Chairman

2.   Mr. Steve Oronsaye                     –       Dep. Chairman

3.   Mallam Abba Kyari                     –       Member

4.   Ms. Benedicta Molokwu             –       Member

5.   Mr. Supo Sasore, SAN                 –       Member

6.   Mr. Tony Idigbe, SAN                 –       Member

7.   Mr. Anthony George-Ikoli, SAN       –       Member

8.   Dr. (Mrs.) Omolara Akanji         –       Member

9.   Mr. Olisa Agbakoba, SAN         –       Member

10. Mr. Ituah Ighodalo                      –       Member

11.  Mr. Bon Otti                                 –       Member

12.  Prof. Olusegun Okunnu            –       Member

13. Mallam Samaila Zubairu            –       Member

14. Mr.Ignatius Adegunle                 –       Member

15. Mr. Gerald Ilukwe                       –       Member

16. Rep. of FIRS                                 –       Ex-Officio

17. Rep. of FMF Incorporated          –       Ex-Officio



I am somewhat of a geek!

Please Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: