Steven Gerrard signs extended Liverpool contract

The Liverpool captain Steven Gerrard has committed his future to the club by signing an extension to his contract.

English: The English association football play...

Stevie G

The 31-year-old England international finalised the deal less than 24 hours after scoring the only goal in Liverpool’s 1-0 Carling Cup semi-final first leg victory at Manchester City.
He told the club’s website: “I’m very happy. It’s a very proud day for myself and my family. This is the club I love and is the club I have supported since I was a young boy.
“I am living the dream as the captain of one of the biggest clubs in the world. I love coming to work every day and the experiences I have had since I was eight years of age and first signed for the club, I wouldn’t change them for the world. To extend that and to hopefully have some more good times in a red shirt is what I want.”
The new deal, the terms of which have not been revealed, means 2012 has begun well for the midfielder, who missed large chunks of last year due to a groin operation and an ankle infection.
Kenny Dalglish said his captain fully deserved to be rewarded with the new contract.
“For us, for Steven and for everybody connected with football club it’s fantastic news,” he said. “We’re delighted for him and are looking forward to him getting back to full fitness and working hard for us and with us. He’s been a fantastic servant to the football club.”
Gerrard has also agreed to take up an ambassadorial role with the club when he retires as a player.
“It’s really flattering for me that the club have offered me the chance to stay when I eventually hang my boots up,” he said. “Hopefully that will be in many years to come because I want to play for as long as I can.”

About KAYCEE WEEZY!

I am somewhat of a geek!

Please Leave a Reply

