Mancini and Gerrard exchange words

Roberto Mancini and Steven Gerrard were involved in a heated exchange of words after Manchester City’s 1-0 defeat to Liverpool in Wednesday’s Carling Cup semi-final first leg at the Etihad Stadium.

The pair clashed in the tunnel and after Mancini had concluded a round of interviews with the Italian seemingly letting Gerrard know his feelings about Glen Johnson’s tackle on Joleon Lescott.
Mancini, who was left infuriated by Vincent Kompany’s failed appeal against his sending off on Sunday, hit out at the lack of action taken against Johnson for his tackle on Lescott, which the City manager believes was worse than the one that saw his skipper sent off.
“It was worse. This tackle was worse. Gerrard came to me and said I said something,” Mancini said.
“It was not for Johnson. It is for the tackle. This tackle was worse than Vinny’s. Everyone can see it.”
He added: “Gerrard came to me and said I said something. Steven Gerrard can say what he wants. I said what I think. That is what I am used to doing.
“It is not important what Steven Gerrard or the other players have said.”
When asked whether he agreed with Mancini, Gerrard told the BBC: “I don’t think so. It was a clear winner of a tackle.
“He was talking about Wayne Rooney trying to get his player (Kompany) sent off and now he’s trying to get one of ours into trouble. I don’t think that works.”

About KAYCEE WEEZY!

I am somewhat of a geek!

Please Leave a Reply

